Thing 23: Pressed for words on WordPress

Just yesterday, I was reading how we are trapped by the idea that we are caught in the string of time where past follows the present and the the future. By thinking of the future by remembering the past, we fail to live the present. Well, if I were to predict the future based on my past dabble with the digital world, this blog would suffer a link rot despite my grand idea for it. My grand idea is to use the blog to feature my progress on my research on embodied learning and use it as a way to attract other similar researchers. I plan to start following their blogs and hopefully they will follow mine. That is going to be a difficult task because so many of the bloggers write so well. But I think the things I learnt during this course is going to be very useful to get them engaged to my blog. I am tempted to use the data visualisation tools to present how the literature on embodied learning has changed since it began. A lot of work but it might be worth it for the thesis too. Cannot wait for the day that I have a chance to put the Creative Commons to something I have designed. I really enjoyed how your team shed the geekiness that is always linked to technology and shared the immense potentiality of the tools that could help us with our academic (perhaps career). Nonetheless, if there is what Create can do and is probably going to (since you will be running this course again next year) is to keep this batch of participants informed on the new available tools and information linked to the various things. For example, in the each of the Things of 2015, you could have a section right at the end which says ‘Additions to Things of 2014’ and list the new tools and information. Not sure if this is going to be a problem because your team will be forced to find new things. But then again, the internet changes so quickly and with so many developers there are bound to be new things. It is a bit like my home country, it never feels like home when you return from a short holiday. I guess that it is because I am tied to the string of time. Well, I am going to cut off from this string and this blog is set to stay. It will be the home for my ideas and thoughts and aspirations. Now I just need to find more tenants 🙂

One thought on “Thing 23: Pressed for words on WordPress

  1. Thanks for the feedback and ideas. We will run it again next year and based on all the participant feedback and technology updates, there will be some changes to the programme no doubt. However, it will likely be minor tweaks for the next version of 23 Things for Research at most. I like your idea of sign-posting where those changes are though – so, thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

